Providence Health & Services
Forensic Nursing Services
Our Wish List
Parents & Prevention
Safety Tips for Kids
Who Are Mandatory Reporters?
Alaska State law requires that certain groups of professionals and other individuals with certain roles must formally report confirmed and suspected cases of child abuse and neglect. These individuals are called "mandatory reporters."
Mandatory reporters include, but are not limited to:
Teachers and school administrative staff
Child care providers
Employees of domestic violence, sexual assault, and substance abuse treatment programs
Reports of suspected abuse or neglect can be called in to 1-800-478-4444 statewide. Reports can also be made to any local Office of Children's Services (OCS).
How do I know when to make a report?
The interactive presentation, "
Reporting Child Abuse in Alaska
" was developed by the State of Alaska, Children's Justice Act Task Force.
The presentation includes information such as:
How to identify the many forms of child abuse
How to respond to a disclosure of abuse
What you are required to do as a mandatory reporter
What happens if I suspect abuse but do not report it?
Alaska is committed to removing the secrecy surrounding child maltreatment. Without reporting, victims might not receive critical services.
If a mandatory reporter fails to report suspected abuse, it can be treated as a Class B misdemeanor, subject to up to 90 days in jail and a $2,000 fine.
What if I am not a mandated reporter?
Anyone who is concerned about the safety of a child may contact their local Office of Children's Services (OCS), or call the statewide hotline:
Monday-Friday 8:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Education and Outreach
24-Hour On Call
Anchorage Police Department
Providence Emergency: #911
Notice of Privacy Practices